Republican Runoff Election to occur on May 26

Republican Runoff Election to occur on May 26

Image: Precinct 2 Montgomery County Constable Gene DeForest will face challenger Daniel Pena in the May 26, 2020, Republican Runoff Election.

Montgomery County, March 6 – Three Republican Runoff Election contests will highlight the ballot in Montgomery County on May 26, 2020. The runoffs will occur, because no candidate received fifty percent (50%) or more in the races.

Chief Justice, Ninth Court of Appeals at Beaumont

Two faces well known to Republican voters will square off against each other in the runoff for the position of Chief Justice of the Ninth Court of Appeals at Beaumont. Conroe attorney Scott Golemon, who received 25.1% of the votes in the March 3 Republican Primary Election, will face off with Jay Wright, who received 25.09% of those votes.

Golemon is a longtime civil attorney who practices with the law firm of Hope & Causey, which primarily does defense work in civil cases but also general civil litigation. Golemon has extensive trial experience and tries many jury trials every year.

Wright is also an experienced attorney who has a general practice on the Montgomery County Courthouse Square. Wright has tried many cases and has, in recent years, done mostly criminal defense work.

District Judge, 457th Civil District Court

The Texas Legislature created the 457th District Court specifically to get rid of Montgomery County’s significant backlog of civil cases. In July, 2019, the Board of Judges voted to make the 457th District Court exclusively a civil district court.

In the electoral contest for District Judge of the brand new 457th Civil District Court, Eric Yollick will face Vince Santini in the May 26 Republican Runoff Election, after voters rendered the following results: Eric Yollick, 37.53%, and Vince Santini, 25.07%.

Yollick has been a civil litigation attorney his entire 31-year law practice. He does primarily real estate litigation and business litigation. Yollick’s law office is in The Woodlands where he has practiced law since 1994 and to which he moved in 1992. Yollick has tried over 200 civil jury trials and over one thousand bench trials.

Santini was an assistant District Attorney for approximately ten years before he went to work for a private law firm.

Precinct 2 Constable

Incumbent Precinct 2 Montgomery County Constable Gene DeForest received 2,845 votes (39.58%), challenger Daniel Pena received 1,808 votes (25.15%), Clyde Vogel received 1,782 votes (24.79%), David Eason received 753 votes (10.48%). DeForest will face Pena in the runoff.

DeForest was a Conroe Police Officer for approximately twenty years before he became the Constable of Precinct 2, a position DeForest has held since January 1, 2001. DeForest has been a certified peace officer for 35 years.

Pena is a Deputy Sheriff in the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office. Pena has been a certified peace office for 16 years, beginning as a detention officer and now serving as a member of the Montgomery County SWAT Team.

Precinct Chair Runoffs

There are also three Republican Precinct Chair runoffs.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login