Montgomery County GOP election filings present interesting races, a few surprising uncontested races

Montgomery County Clerk candidate Brandon Steinmann.

The Golden Hammer Staff Reports

Conroe, December 15 – The candidate filings for the March 1, 2022, Republican Primary Election have resulted in some interesting races and a few surprising uncontested races. The filing deadline expired on Monday, December 13.

At the top of the ballot, there’s no surprise that the three major candidates filed for the 8th Congressional District seat of powerful Republican Congressman Kevin Brady who is retiring at the end of 2022. The major candidates are attorney Jonathan Hullihan, who served in the United States Navy as a Judge Advocates General Officer for 14 years and recently became a Naval Reserve Officer, Special Forces veteran Morgan Luttrell, and Youth Summit organizer Chris Collins.

For County Judge, Dr. Billy Graff and Montgomery Mayor Sara Countryman are challenging beleaguered incumbent Mark Keough who must dispel doubts (1) about his abilities as a result of his recent DWI conviction for illegal use of downers and uppers while he drove and (2) his decimation of the local economy from the shutdowns and curfew he perpetrated in violation of state law back in March, 2020.

For County Clerk, Congressman Brady’s District Director Brandon Steinmann faces Woodlands Community Center Director Jeanie Stewart.

Not facing any opponents are Judges Kristin Bays, Lisa Michalk, Jason Dunn, Wayne Mack, Matt Beasley, Matt Masden, and Trey Spikes.

County Commissioner Precinct 2 Charlie Riley faces challenger Jennifer Eckhart, while County Commissioner Precinct 4 James Metts is running against Matt Gray.

County Republican Chairman Bryan Christ is unopposed.

State Representative Steve Toth of The Woodlands faces a surprise challenge from Maris Blair, who is likely a very tough opponent.

State Representative Cecil Bell of Magnolia faces a challenge from Magnolia realtor Kelly McDonald.

State Representative Will Metcalf of Conroe is unopposed for re-election.




You must be logged in to post a comment Login