Guest Sports Writer Adrian Kaiser: Here come the bowls!

Clemson University Football Head Coach Dabo Swinney (right) spoke to a few friends in 2019.

Adrian Kaiser, Guest Sports Writer to The Golden Hammer

Pasadena, December 28 – The College Football Bowl season is on!

Starting with one of the most famous, the Rose Bowl, also known as “the Granddaddy of them all” is the oldest bowl game currently still in the mix. Founded in 1902,  the Rose Bowl is the most viewed, talked-about, and attended Bowl game. 107,000 people attended the Rose Bowl in 1973.

The current Rose Bowl Champion is Oregon. The 2020-21 Rose Bowl game will be one of the College Football Playoff games. Alabama and Notre Dame will play each other on January 1, 2021.

The Sugar Bowl, the “Allstate Sugar Bowl,” is the second bowl game that currently is one of the College Football Playoff games. It was founded in 1935, and has been housed in the Mercedes Benz Superdome in New Orleans.  The Sugar Bowl used to be at Tulane University from 1935 to 1974. In 2005, the game moved to Georgia due to flooding during Hurricae Katrina.

The Sugar Bowl has had a long relationship with the South Eastern Conference (SEC), which has not had a team in the Bowl only four times. The current Sugar Bowl Champions are the Georgia Bulldogs. This year, Clemson will face Ohio State on January 1, 2021, after the Rose Bowl.

The Orange Bowl, known as the “Capitol One Orange Bowl,” has been played since 1935. It began in Miami Field, until it moved to Hard Rock Stadium. In its early years, the Orange Bowl had no specific ties to any Conference, but from 1950 to the mid-1990s, the Orange Bowl had a strong relationship with the Big 8 Conference. Since then, it has been the home of the ACC Championship game. The current Orange Bowl Champion is the Florida Gators.

The teams in this year’s Orange Bowl on January 2, 2021, will be Texas A&M University and North Carolina.

The Cotton Bowl, known now as the “Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic,” began in 1937 at the Cotton Bowl Stadium at the Texas State Fairgrounds in Dallas. It moved to AT&T Stadium in Arlington in 2010. The Cotton Bowl hosted the championship game for the Southwest Conference, until the Southwest Conference dissolved in 1996. Now, the Cotton Bowl hosts the Big 12 Conference’s runner-up against an SEC team.

The 2019 Cotton Bowl Champion is Penn State. This year’s game will feature Florida and Oklahoma.

The Fiesta Bowl, also known as the “Playstation Fiesta Bowl,” is the youngest of the Bowl games on this list. Started in 1972, the Fiesta Bowl began at Sun Devil Stadium in Arizona, until it moved to State Farm Stadium in 2006.

1995, the Fiesta Bowl joined with the Sugar Bowl and the Orange Bowl in an alliance, which guaranteed one of the three stadiums would host a National Championship Game every 3 years.

The current Fiesta Bowl Champion is Clemson. On January 2, 2021, the Fiesta Bowl will host Oregon and Iowa State.

The “Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl” started in 1968 originally as a fundraiser for the Lions Club. The Atlanta Chamber of Commerce took over the game, which pitted an Atlantic Coast Conference against some other at-large team. In 2013, the Peach Bowl became one of the games eligible to host College Football Playoff games.

The current Peach Bowl Champion is LSU. This year’s Peach Bowl will feature Cincinnati and Georgia.

Since the creation of the College Football Playoffs, the bowl games not participating in those playoff have seemed less important. It has caused some coaches and teams to believe that the Bowls don’t mean anything. Some players sit out of Bowl games, as several North Carolina players have opted for this year’s Orange Bowl against Texas A&M.






You must be logged in to post a comment Login