Electoral contests progress towards November 3 faceoffs

Electoral contests progress towards November 3 faceoffs

The Golden Hammer Staff Reports

Montgomery County, March 9 – The November 3, 2020, General Election will, of course, provide the final answers to the pending electoral contests. With the results of the Republican Primary Election and the Democratic Primary Election, there is a bit more clarity about the identity of the individuals who will be the respective party nominees in each race.

President: President Donald Trump, the Republican, will likely face Democratic former Vice President Joseph Biden. While United States Senator Bernie Sanders (D-Vermont) remains in the contest for the Democratic Nomination, the math just doesn’t seem to work for Sanders in the race for delegates.

United States Senator: United States Senator John Cornyn, a Republican, will face either Royce West or Mary “MJ” Hegar, who will face each other in the May 26, 2020, Democratic Runoff Election.

United States Representative, District 8: Incumbent Republican United States Congressman Kevin Brady will oppose Democrat Elizabeth Hernandez.

Railroad Commissioner: After James Wright defeated incumbent Ryan Sitton in the Republican Primary Election, Wright will face either of Roberto “Beto” Alonzo or Crysta Castaneda, the two Democrats who made the runoff.

Chief Justice, Texas Supreme Court: Incumbent Republican Nathan Hecht will face Democrat Amy Clark Meachum.

Supreme Court Justice, Place 6: Incumbent Republican Justice Jane Bland will face Democrat Kathy Cheng.

Supreme Court Justice, Place 7: Incumbent Republican Justice Jeff Boyd will face Democrat Staci Williams.

Supreme Court Justice, Place 8: Incumbent Republican Brett Busby will face Democrat Gisela D. Triana.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3: Incumbent Republican Bert Richardson will face Democrat Elizabeth Davis Frizell.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4: Incumbent Republican Kevin Yeary will face Democrat Tina Clinton.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9: Incumbent Republican David Newell will face Democrat Brandon Birmingham.

State Senator, District 4: Incumbent Republican Brandon Creighton of Conroe will face Democrat Jay Stittleburg of New Caney.

State Representative, District 3: Incumbent Republican Cecil Bell, Jr., of Magnolia, will face Democrat Martin Shipp.

State Representative, District 15: Incumbent Republican Steve Toth, of Conroe, will face Democrat Lorena Perez McGill.

District Judge, 457th District Court: Eric Yollick and Vince Santini face each other in the Republican Runoff Election on May 26, 2020, and will then face Marc Meyer, a Democrat, in the General Election.

Sheriff: Incumbent Republican Rand Henderson will face Democrat Maher Husseini.

County Commissioner, Precinct 1: Republican Robert Walker will face Democrat Mike Midler.

County Commissioner, Precinct 3: Republican James Noack will face Democrat Lore Breitmeyer Jones.

Both the Chief Justice of the Ninth Court of Appeals – Scott Golemon versus Jay Wright – and Precinct 2 Montgomery County Constable – incumbent Constable Gene DeForest and challenger Daniel Pena – races will appear, along with the 457th District Court race, on the ballot in the May 26, 2020, Republican Runoff Election. There are no Democratic challenges in the Court of Appeals or Constable electoral contests.




You must be logged in to post a comment Login