Editorial: The Golden Hammer asks readers for input on the Power Top Ten which will begin December 1

Power Top Ten List #1: Dr. Julie Turner, President of the Texas Patriots PAC with former Montgomery Police Chief Jim Napolitano,  and Patriots PAC Vice President Jon Bauman.

Kelli Cook, Publisher, The Golden Hammer

Beginning December 1, 2019, The Golden Hammer, Montgomery County’s leading daily newspaper will begin a series of articles, which our readers have enjoyed three years in a row as one of the most popular features of this newspaper: the Power Top Ten List. As always, we’ll start with the #10 most powerful person in Montgomery County and every three days will add another person to the list. The 2018 Power Top Ten List appears at the bottom of this editorial.

I’ve only been Publisher of this newspaper for two months. Therefore, I’ve asked our former Publisher, Eric Yollick, to take the lead with the 2019 Power Top Ten List, especially because Yollick has a broad understanding of political relationships in Montgomery County. He’ll appear as a Guest Reporter for the sole purpose of the Power Top Ten List.

Additionally, on December 30, 2019, The Golden Hammer will announce the Person of the Year, the person who has had the greatest impact on the body politic of Montgomery County during 2019. As Publisher, I will consult with The Golden Hammer‘s staff but the ultimate decision will be mine perhaps with some consultation with Yollick.

On December 31, 2019, this newspaper will announce the “Mad Cow Award 2019” for the worst elected official of Montgomery County during 2019. Once again, I will make the ultimate decision on that Award, as Yollick has specifically requested not to take part in that analysis or decision.

There has definitely been a substantial shift in the Power Top Ten List, especially on the Commissioners Court. But there have been significant shifts elsewhere too.

I invite our readers to give us their ideas confidentially for the most powerful people in Montgomery County. Please remember that we define “power” as “the ability to get things done.” Similarly, I hope our readers will provide input for the Person of the Year selection and to the recipient of the “Mad Cow Award 2019” for the worst elected official. Please email your suggestions to goldenhammermoco@gmail.com. Let’s have fun!

The recipients of last year’s “honors” were:

#1: Dr. Julie Turner, President of the Texas Patriots PAC

#2: Conservative political activists Kelli Cook and Ginger Russell

#3: Brett Ligon, Montgomery County District Attorney (with assists from the women and men of the District Attorney’s Office and others in the Montgomery County law enforcement community)

#4: Reagan Reed, Montgomery County Republican Party Vice Chairman (with an assist from Party Treasurer John Hill Wertz)

#5: Mark Keough, Montgomery County Judge-Elect

#6: James Noack, Precinct 3 County Commissioner

#7: Rand Henderson, Montgomery County Sheriff

#8: Simon Sequeira, Quadvest President and property rights advocate (with assists from real estate developers Mike Stoecker and Danny Signorelli)

#9: John Holzwarth and the Montgomery County government vendors’ “Deep State” (with assists from Precinct 1 County Commissioner Mike Meador and lame duck County Judge Craig Doyal)

#10: United States Congressman Kevin Brady.

Person of the Year 2018: Reagan Reed, Vice Chairman of the Montgomery County Republican Party.

Mad Cow Award 2018: Charlie Riley, Precinct 2 Montgomery County Commissioner.




You must be logged in to post a comment Login