Candidate filing period closes, strong reform candidate slate to appear on ballot

Mark Keough, retired businessman, pastor, reform candidate for County Judge, and State Representative.

Conroe, December 12 – State Representative Mark Keough, the reform candidate for Montgomery County Judge, leads the list of candidates who filed to seek to win the Republican Primary Election in the March 6, 2018, Republican Primary Election. Although some democrats filed, Montgomery County has a strong Republican citizenry who recognize the out-of-touch liberalism of the national democrat party. Sadly, certain Republicans in Montgomery County vote and act more like liberal democrats: County Judge Craig Doyal, Precinct 2 County Commissioner Charlie Riley, and JP James Metts who, despite the serious sexual harassment findings against him has chosen to seek higher office by running for County Commissioner.

Former State Representative Steve Toth is running for his seat that Keough is vacating, while retired schoolteacher Jackie Waters is challenging Toth.

Most of the judicial candidates are running unopposed, because the citizens’ reform movement has consciously chosen to focus on replacing the “establishment” members of the Commissioners Court with reformers who will reduce government spending and bring concrete ethics to the corrupt Montgomery County government.

The only contested judicial races in Montgomery County are:

  • The open seat left by the impending retirement of 284th District Court Judge Cara Wood. Conroe attorney Kristin Bays and Grimes County attorney Jo Anne Linzer are fighting for the Republican nomination in the 284th District Court race.
  • Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace, which is also an open seat as a result of the retirement of outstanding Judge Edie Connelly, one of the premiere Justices of the Peace in Texas. Three people are running for Connelly’s open seat:
    • Matt Beasley, Chief of Staff to Precinct 3 County Commissioner James Noack;
    • Ronnie Yeates, II, Grimes County Assistant District Attorney (some connections to Davenport Ring);
    • Dan Zientek, Deputy Constable in Precinct 3 Ryan Gable’s office (strong connections to Davenport Ring).
  • Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace, as a result of JP James Metts who should resign but has instead chosen to run for higher office. There are two people running for Precinct 4 JP:
    • Jason Dunn, a Harris County Deputy Sheriff (Beware: Member of Davenport Ring);
    • Ronald Willingham, a Deputy Constable in Precinct 4 Rowdy Hayden’s Office.

County Clerk Mark Turnbull, one of the leading county clerks in Texas, is running for re-election. Jeanie Stewart of Noack’s office is running against Turnbull. District Clerk Barbara Adamick retired. Melisa Miller is running as the reform candidate for the position, while more establishment-oriented Cynthia Jamieson is also in the race.

The four most critical positions up for grabs are:

  • Montgomery County Judge
    • Embattled incumbent Craig Doyal (strong connections to Davenport Ring) is running while also defending the criminal charges against him;
    • Reformer Mark Keough, who is currently a State Representative.
  • Precinct 2 County Commissioner
    • Longtime Republican activist and businessman Brian Dawson;
    • Conservative author and former Comal County Commissioner Gregory Parker; and
    • Embattled incumbent Charlie Riley (some connection to Davenport Ring) is running while also defending the criminal charges against him.
  • Precinct 4 County Commissioner
    • Reformer Bob Bagley, who currently serves as a Board member of the Montgomery County Hospital District;
    • Reformer incumbent County Commissioner Jim Clark is running for re-election;
    • JP James Metts, who is pro-big government and is reckless with sexual misconduct (Beware: Member of Davenport Ring).
  • County Treasurer
    • Reformer Melanie Pryor Bush, who is the President of the Conroe Independent School District Board of Directors;
    • Pro-nepotism incumbent Stephanne Davenport (Beware: Member of Davenport Ring).

While membership in the Davenport Ring should instantly disqualify three of the foregoing candidates (Dunn, Metts, and Davenport), voters should be vigilant of all of the others with respect to their assurances that they will work towards specific reductions in County government spending.

County Treasurer Stephanne Davenport with corrupt local political boss Marc Davenport.




You must be logged in to post a comment Login